2013/14 Playoffs and Award Predictions

Hockey is officially back! Woohoo! I’ll definitely be watching Winnipeg/Edmonton tonight, but I haven’t decided which of the earlier games I’ll tune in to yet. Leaning towards Washington/Chicago, but it’s hard to pass up on a Toronto/Montreal rivalry game on Hockey Night in Canada. I guess I’ll start out with the Leafs/Canadians because it starts earlier and then switch it up if need be. Anyway, back to business.

Some of you may have already figured out my playoff teams based on the division standings predictions, but if not, here they are. I’ve broken them down by division for now and then we’ll get to the playoff matchups and eventually my pick for the 2013/14 Stanley Cup champion.


  1. Kings
  2. Coyotes
  3. Canucks
  4. Ducks


  1. Blackhawks
  2. Blues
  3. Predators
  4. Stars


  1. Penguins
  2. Capitals
  3. Blue Jackets
  4. Devils
  5. Rangers


  1. Bruins
  2. Senators
  3. Canadiens

That’s who will be making the playoffs in each division. Now we’ll progress through the playoffs as I predict the winner of each series (highlighted in bold font, though I suppose you can just look at the next round to see who advanced).

Opening Round


  • Stars vs. Kings
  • Ducks vs. Blackhawks
  • Predators vs. Blues
  • Canucks vs. Coyotes


  • Rangers vs. Bruins
  • Devils vs. Penguins
  • Blue Jackets vs. Capitals
  • Canadiens vs. Senators



  • Coyotes vs. Kings
  • Blues vs. Blackhawks


  • Senators vs. Bruins
  • Capitals vs. Penguins



  • Blackhawks vs. Kings


  • Capitals vs. Bruins


  • Kings vs. Bruins

So there you have it, I predict the Boston Bruins will win the Stanley Cup. It’s a bit of a letdown to make a prediction that has fairly good odds, but oh well, I think I made up for that with a lot of my lower seeded playoff team picks. Now it’s time for me to unveil my NHL award predictions.

Hart Memorial Trophy: Sidney Crosby

Ted Lindsay Award: Sidney Crosby

Conn Smythe Trophy: Zdeno Chara

Art Ross Trophy: Sidney Crosby

Maurice ‘Rocket’ Richard Trophy: Steven Stamkos

James Norris Memorial Trophy: Zdeno Chara

Vezina Trophy: Roberto Luongo

Calder Memorial Trophy: Ryan Murray

Frank J. Selke Trophy: Patrice Bergeron

Jack Adams Award: Darryl Sutter

NHL GM of the Year Award: Jarmo Kekäläinen

Mark Messier Leadership Award: Jonathan Toews

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Loui Eriksson

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Dominic Moore

King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Eric Staal

NHL Foundation Player Award: David Backes

William M. Jennings Trophy: Tuukka Rask

NHL Plus-Minus Award: Zdeno Chara